The other day, my friend’s mom posted a Facebook status, “Your present attitude is the prophet of your future.” As anyone who read my latest post knows, I haven’t had the greatest attitude of late. So, prompted by this quote, I decided to take my life into my own hands. Not having the career of my dreams yet does not allow me the right to be petulant about my whole life. With that in mind, I made some changes.

I cut off all my hair. Freed myself of the literal burden of long hair in the summer, and I figuratively embraced the lightness of my shorn locks. It’s easy to do, and it looks tres chic. Or at least that’s what the people keep telling me.

Boyfriend and I started taking dance lessons. We’re learning to salsa, and let me tell you, it’s not easy, but it’s fun. It is for sure something that’s out of my comfort zone, and it’s a challenge. And I think it’s a good first step on the breaking free from boredom and being morose.

Part time employment: achieved. I now have a reason to leave my house for more than just running errands. I’m being productive, social and earning money. Not to mention, I have a generous employee discount I intend to use to amp up my soon-to-be necessary professional wardrobe.

So here’s to hoping. Hoping that these few changes will help bolster me into living more positively. And hoping that I can keep making the small steps that get me where I want to go. And soon enough, finding myself at that mysterious place I want to be.