Sometimes when it’s 2 a.m., and you’ve looked at the Facebook profile of everyone you know, created an entire fantasy life on Pinterest and read the day’s headlines an all the major media outlets, it’s time for a new distraction: online shopping.

My perusal lead me to Barnes & Noble, a site good for so much more than just the newest novel! I had received a giftcard to the retailer for my birthday, but I hadn’t gone in to a store due to location issues and getting my bike lock stolen. I realize these sound like flimsy excuses. It didn’t matter though, because I had found the mecca of B&N locations–their website.

So, what did I get? Well, remembering my birthday promise to get fit, I got a pilates DVD. I also got Haruki Murakami’s What I Talk About When I Talk About Running. It’s a nonfiction piece he (my very favorite author) did. When I was in the throes of my thesis (remember that misery!?), my preceptor randomly asked me if I liked running. I don’t, by the way. She said she’d asked because my writing style reminded her of Murakami’s in that book. What a HUGE compliment! So now, 5 months later, I’m getting around to reading it.

The real piece de resistance was a pure guilty splurge: Sweet Valley Confidential. Yup, that’s right. I read the grown up version of every girl in my generation’s favorite trashy teen novels. I sat down over one afternoon and finished the whole book in one sitting. It was glorious.

And that, my friends, is why online shopping is the best. You can get something you need, something you should have gotten long ago and something you absolutely have no need for at all in a single trip. With free shipping and lower taxes, why go to a store ever again*?

*Please go to stores. Working retail is excruciatingly dull without customers.