Each month, one of my favorite magazines, Elle Decor, has a feature called Shortlist, in which celebrities share the top ten things they can’t live without. It’s an enlightening glimpse into their priorities, so I thought I’d give you a glimpse into my own shortlist.

  1. My bed. Tufted velvet headboard, pillow-top mattress, down-filled comforter covered by an Anthro duvet. I could literally spend 24 hours a day there.
  2. Aveda. In a given day, I use at least seven Aveda products. My hair and skin have never been happier.
  3. Friends. Obviously, without them, life is basically meaningless.
  4. My David Yurman rings. I’ve had this one since I was a senior in high school; it was a Christmas gift from my mom. The other one is a half-size version of this ring that I bought myself when I got into grad school. I never take them off.
  5. A checkbook wallet. Currently, I’m carrying a coral patent leather version that boyfriend bought me for graduation. I don’t know how people can use any smaller wallets.
  6. Jergen’s. Ultra-moisturizing lotion has literally saved my life.
  7. Books. Currently reading What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami. I can never last more than a day between books.
  8. Vitamin D. Growing up in Colorado (300 days of sun a year!) and living for four years in FL (no winter!) made moving to Chicago and experiencing winter here even more brutal. Without my daily dose of Vitamin D, I might literally wilt away into a pile of pale sadness.
  9. Travel. I’ve always had the wanderlust, and if I don’t have a trip on the horizon, I get antsy and irritable. I love getting away to new places and revisiting familiar locales. As much as I can, I rack up points on my Southwest card so I can get out of Dodge as often as possible.
  10. Cubby. Once a lion cub, now gray, earless and whiskerless and looking more like a little seal, Cubby has been by my side nearly every night for more than 20 years.

I feel like this should go without saying, but I’ll say it anyway: my life would be noticeably less wonderful without both jeans and pearls.

Hope you enjoyed this departure from the standard meandering of my thoughts!