Tags

,

Well, here it is, the last day of 2013, and what a year it’s been. From January through December, this year was a whirlwind of activity, and while some of that activity was wonderful, (Europe, engagement, my darling new apartment) I’m definitely wrapping up feeling tired.

So for 2014, my resolution is just: be good.

I will be good to others. I will be good to myself. I will try to leave the world better than I found it. I will use my potential. Smile at a stranger; eat a carrot; run a mile; send a friend a card; set a goal that matters to me and follow through; buy locally; don’t take my frustration out on others; write every day; cook more; read more; be extra nice to little kids; realize when I need a break; know when to indulge and when to withhold.

That’s kind of an exhausting list, but I can make it, and my life, simple by trying all year to pick the good, life-affirming choice.

Cheers, then to 2014! And here’s to life being calmer and just a bit brighter than last year.