Tags

, ,

Sometimes inspirations comes from the inane, and for me, today, it came from a picture of a mug on Instagram, and by recalling the lyrics to Britney’s “Work B**ch,” which I heard yesterday at the gym. The mug said, “You have the same amount of hours in the day as Beyonce.” Feel what you might about her, but Beyonce in undeniably where she has aimed to be in life.

What’s the difference between Brit and Bey and me? Easy, they’re rich, famous and can do choreographed dances with much skill. But what it really boils down to is that instead of being content to dream about what they wanted, they made a plan, worked as hard as they could and made it happen for themselves. I’m nowhere near aiming for international superstardom, so shouldn’t my own dreams be that much more attainable?

It’s a problem of insecurity, of fear, of past failures. However, as anyone who has lived fully knows, the past is absolutely not meant to be a definer of the future. It’s a road traveled, a map made of wrong turns and dead ends, and it should ultimately lead somewhere positive. I feel as though after a few too many bumps in the road, I’ve simply pulled over, leaned my head onto the steering wheel and thought, “This is exhausting. I can’t keep going like this.” And while sometimes it’s okay to take a break (that’s what rest stops and scenic vista pull-offs are for), it’s certainly not a way to live.

So now is the time to crank Britney way up on my radio, pull out my map, ask some fellow travelers for advice and get the hell out of the rest stop. Because if I’m not content with where I am, I’m the only one who can do anything about it. The only way to change your circumstances is to change yourself, and when I think it’s too hard, or I’m too busy, I can just remember, Queen Bey and I are working with the same set of hours.