I’m going to just ignore the fact that it’s been almost a year since my last post and just move forward.

I’ve never been keen on the idea of doing things in the same way as everyone else. Sometimes, I feel this is to my detriment; other times it is wonderful in ways I couldn’t have imagined. Luckily, husband operates the same way, and when I fear the opinions of others, he pushes me to focus only on what I want and not to care what others think. When we eloped, it was the best day of my life, truly, and a trip I look back on frequently with sighs of happiness. Cheesy, I know.

Other times, forging my own path is scary. And though I have a partner forging beside me, things can be lonely and strange and difficult. Stage 2 of our life plan has led us to make the leap from living in Denver, where we were surrounded by our oldest friends and close family to moving to Seattle, where I can count the number of people I know on a single hand. As everyone I know is buying houses and raising children, it’s a move in the opposite direction, a move that confounded my mom as she told us, “You two certainly have your own way of doing things.”

 And it’s true. I may be uncomfortable more often than some, but I’ve had great adventures and done things I could have never rationalized if I was on a normal path. Husband and I went for a hike the other day and chatted about where our lives would be if we hadn’t ended up together. I thought I’d probably have married a nice boy from church and be in my nice starter house, raising the first of my 2.5 kids. None of that is bad. In fact, from a certain perspective, the scene is positively rosy. But it isn’t what I want, and I think I would’ve always known that.

So, here I am, one week into a new life, a little lonely and a little uncomfortable, but there are so many other things that make me feel certain and eager, and I’m excited to see where life takes us.